Skip to content

Saddlebred Individual Awards Nominations Due

Lexington, Ky. ­– With the competition season drawing to a close, final nominations from its membership for the American Saddlebred Horse Association’s individual awards are due at ASHA no later than the close of business Wednesday, October 31, 2007.


Each year, the Association’s highest honors are presented at the annual Saddlebred Ball, which will be held once again at the Keeneland Entertainment Center to top off the ASHA Annual Meeting, on Saturday evening, February 16, 2008. All of the awards – Lifetime Achievement, Meritorious Service, Breeders Hall of Fame, Breeder of the Year, C.J. Cronan and Lurline Roth Sportsmanship Awards, Frank Ogletree Youth Award, Gordon Jenkins International Award, Gillenwater Family Trophy and the Wing Commander Medal – are explained in detail at


Members wishing to make nominations should respond in writing explaining in detail why an individual is deserving of a specific award. The nominations are reviewed by the Association’s Executive Committee and other committees as necessary; no more than three finalists in each category are chosen to be voted upon by the full board of directors.


Please send nominations to ASHA, c/o Brenda Newell, 4083 Iron Works Parkway, Lexington, KY 40511, by fax to (859) 259-1628, or email to; please include “Award Nomination” in the subject line.   



More Stories