Skip to content

American Saddlebred Annual Award Honorees Announced

The American Saddlebred Horse Association today (Jan. 4) announced its annual award winners, based on ballots tabulated from its board of directors.  Nominees for each award are received from the general membership and committee volunteers, screened by the Executive Committee of the Association, and voted on by the full board from the candidates selected.  The awards are presented at the Saddlebred Ball, to be held at Keeneland Entertainment Center, Saturday evening, February 16, 2008. More information on these awards can be found at


Honorees by award are:


Lifetime Achievement
Mrs. David Neil, Blythewood Farm


Breeders Hall of Fame Inductee
Ann Tierney Smith, Leatherwood Stud


Breeder of the Year, 2007
Callaway Hills Stable


C.J. “June” Cronan Sportsmanship
Bud Willimon


Mrs. Wm. P. Roth Sportsmanship
Marilyn Macfarlane


Meritorious Service
George and Maggie Robertson


Wing Commander Medals of Honor
Carter Cox
Robert H. Lewis


Gillenwater Family Trophy
The Wheeler Family (Keswick, Virginia)


Gordon Jenkins International
Martin Gueldner (Germany)


Frank Ogletree Youth
Kelly Hill


These Saddlebred ambassadors will be honored during the 2008 American Saddlebred Horse Association convention, annual meeting, and youth conference, February 14-16, 2008.  The headquarters hotel is the Embassy Suites in Lexington, Kentucky.  Links to register for the convention and make hotel reservations online are accessible by clicking here


More Stories

  • Attention Hackney Youth

    The AHHS announced Hackney Youth Creative Arts and Writing Contest. This is your opportunity to showcase your creativity. Your goal is to share YOUR representation of the Hackney using any medium (material) of your choosing. Three lucky winners will be drawn from the entries to receive $500 each, along with select entries receiving featured spots in the youth newsletter. Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 5 23

    Read More
  • Hoof Beats and High Fashion

    The American Saddlebred Museum presents the annual July Fundraiser—Hoof Beats and High Fashion on Friday, July 14 at 11:00 a.m.  Read More
  • Freedman’s Gift Package Raffle

    The American Saddlebred Museum and Freedman's are offering a chance to win an amazing gift package and support the Museum at the same time! The prize package, valued at $550, is full of useful items any horseperson needs and features several exciting new products as well. Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 23 HW

    Read More
  • #FoalsNFocus – Week 10

    While horse shows are stacked one on top of another, the 2023 foal crop is also blossoming across the country. Submitted by owner/breeder Kristen Wells, this week’s winning photo is of her May 20th colt by Noble Braveheart out of Hannah Starlight, a daughter of reserve world’s champion Leatherwood’s Starlight. Read More
  • Latest Issue 5 29 23

    Read More
  • #FoalsNFocus – Week 9

    The babies keep growing, the weather keeps improving and the #foalsNfocus submissions keep rolling in. We are pleased to bring you another nice group this week with the following making the top nine. Read More
  • #FoalsNFocus – Week 8

    As foaling season continues the babies are in full bloom. This week’s champion is a beautiful shot of a spotted American Saddlebred colt by Arrowhead’s Moscato out of SH Card On File by Arrowhead’s Bateleur. The photo was submitted by owner/breeder Jeff Stone. Read More
  • Latest Issue 5 22 23 Ashe

    Read More