Skip to content

David L. Howard to be Honored for Lifetime Achievement

The American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASHA) has announced its annual award recipients, based on ballots tabulated by the ASHA Board of Directors.

Nominees for each award are received from the general membership and committee volunteers, screened by the ASHA Executive Committee, and voted on by the full Board from the candidates selected.

The awards are presented at the UPHA Convention in Amelia Island, FL.

The complete list of ASHA Major Awards recipients is as follows:

Lifetime Achievement – David L. Howard, Shelbyville, TN
Breeders Hall of Fame – Lenore T. Weldon, New Bloomfied, MO
Breeder of the Year 2017 – Silver Brook Stables, Louisville, Kentucky
Horse of the Year – Top Of The Mark, owned by: Golden Creek Farms, Inc., Simpsonville, Kentucky
C.J. Cronan Sportsmanship Award – James Nichols, Metairie, LA
Lurline Roth Sportsmanship Award – Betsy Boone, Concord, NC
Meritorious Service Award – Edmund A. Perwien, Bellville, TX
Wing Commander Medal – D.V.M. Alan R. Raun, Cumming, IA 
Paul and Dorothy Gillenwater Family Award – Nancy-Leigh Fisher, Oconomowoc, WI
Gordon Jenkins International Award – Carson L. Kressley, New York, NY
Frank Ogletree Youth Award – Jordyn Isgrigg, Mount Washington, KY
Wing Tempo Award - Singsation

Visit the ASHA Major Awards page for more information pertaining to the criteria for each award.

More Stories

  • 2019 AHHS Showmanship Final

    The UPHA American Royal National Championship Horse Show and the American Hackney Horse Society are pleased to announce the AHHS Youth Medallion Showmanship In Hand Championship will be held at the 2019 UPHA American Royal.  Read More
  • Arrangements for Jeanette Durant

    A Midwest legend, Jeanette Durant passed away peacefully this morning (September 10) at the age of 89. She is reunited with her late husband of 50 years, Dick. Together, they were a great training team, known for so many world’s champion teams. Jeanette was known for being able to ride a gaited horse like few others! Read More
  • Bartz Impact Scholarship Award Nominations Open

    The American Saddlebred Museum is pleased to accept nominations for the Keith Bartz Impact Scholarship Award. The award is $1,500 and is given to an individual dedicated to raising awareness of the American Saddlebred and improving the community.   Read More
  • Route 66 Moves Dates and Welcomes Saddlebreds

    The show committee of the Route 66 Morgan Classic, held July 25-27 at the Tulsa Expo Center, arranged a meeting during the show to hear the voices of the trainers and exhibitors about what the show committee could do to make the show thrive... Read More
  • Calling Past Good Hands Champions

    The Good Hands National Finals and Mid-America Horse Show Association are looking for past Junior Exhibitor and Adult Good Hands Champions! We request your presence as the Finals celebrates its 90th Anniversary at the Mane Event Horse Show, which will be held in Springfield, Illinois from October 17-20, 2019. Read More
  • Board Unanimously Approves AMHA Relocation Proposal

    At the Third Quarter Board meeting held Saturday, September 7 in Las Vegas, Nevada, the American Morgan Horse Association’s Board of Directors unanimously approved the recommendation to relocate the AMHA home office... Read More
  • ASHA Funding Fall 2019 Business-Consulting Program for Saddlebred Businesses and Lesson Barns- Apply Today!

    The American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASHA) is thrilled to announce our partnership with equine industry leading business consultant Elisabeth McMillan of “Equestrian, the Horse Business Site”... Read More
  • It takes a village...

    Read More
  • 2019 Alex Mooney Scholarship Winners Announced

    The Grand National World Championship Morgan Horse Show is pleased to congratulate Jessica Hyman of Fulton, New York and Linel Mullendore of Monroe, Washington, the winners of the 2019 Alex Mooney Scholarship.  Read More
  • World’s Championship Horse Show Wrap Up Issue

    SHR World’s Championship Horse Show wrap up issue is out today! It will be at All American and Summers End horse shows tomorrow and in the mail to subscribers across the nation! Read More