Skip to content

Yearling Breeders Classic

Posted May 14, 2002
The Yearling Breeders Classic will again be held at the All American Horse Classic at the Indiana State Fairgrounds in Indianapolis, Ind., on September 4-7, 2002.

The National Champion Yearling is crowned from this prestigious competition. Unequaled recognition for farms, owners and stallions is realized. Over $250,000 has been awarded in the past six years with outstanding yearlings by six different stallions paraded up for their awards.

The stallions who were nominated and produced the six previous National Champions were (1995) Harrodsburg, (1996) Phi Slama Jama, (1997) Merchant Prince, (1998) Supremacy’s High Time, (1999) Black Bottom Pie, (2000) First Night Out, and (2001) Gypsy Santana.

Beautiful sterling silver trophies are awarded to the national champion. The All American Yearling Breeders Classic has been the largest paying American Saddlebred yearling competition in America.

A significant change for 2002 is that the cost to nominate a stallion has been reduced to only $500.

Only yearlings by nominated stallions may compete in this competition. The first closing nomination date is June 1, 2002 at $500. The fee increases by $100 per month every month thereafter until the last eligible date of September 1, 2002 at a fee of $800.

Yearlings sired by nominated stallions may enter at a fee of $500 as late as twenty-four hours prior to the competition on Friday, September 6, 2002.

Jim Aikman is giving a $500 bonus to the stallion nominator who has the largest number of yearlings competing with a minimum of three yearlings competing in the class. If more than one nominator has the same number of competing entries, the $500 will be divided.

For more information or nomination forms, contact Jim Aikman, 8949 Baker Road, Indianapolis, IN 46259, 317-862-4341 or 317-697-2484.

More Stories