Skip to content

A Winning Move For Buckeye Morgan Challenge

by Linda Stewart


WILMINGTON, Ohio - The weather and the competition were both hot, hot, hot at this year’s Buckeye Morgan Challenge. Held at the Roberts Arena in Wilmington, Ohio, this year’s show enjoyed increased entries and some new exhibitors along with the hot weather. The show moved from its traditional September dates to Aug. 10-12, for the 37th edition of this fun-filled show.


Larry Bolen and Jaisen von Ballmoos shared the judging duties. Every year, Gene Holloway comes all the way from Erie, Colo., to serve as the show’s ringmaster. The USEF steward duties were fulfilled by Shirley Nowak, and Marilyn Ackerman handled the office. Show Manager Jennifer Carr was pleased with the quality and quantity of horses at the show, as several classes had to be split. Bob Fraunfelder served as barn manager and photographer Terry Young snapped the pictures in the ring.


As always, the Buckeye Show parties are the best! Starting out with the Friday evening pizza party and following up Saturday night at the dog races, these people know how to party! Each morning complimentary donuts and coffee were served and a silent auction helped to raise money for the club.


The tricolor action began in hand with Grand Champion Gelding honors going to Meet Joe Black presented by John Warner. Whitmorr American Beauty owned by Mary Morrette and shown by Bryan Earehart were named Grand Champion Mare. Tim Roesink brought out a shining new show ring star as the yearling KJM Five Star owned by Barbara Lindauer posed for the Grand Champion Stallion award.


The pleasure driving division featured some world caliber horses including Dragonsmeade Carnaros owned and driven by Nancy Hendricks as the Amateur Pleasure Driving Champion under the direction of Tim Roesink. Lois Magisano, a longtime Buckeye show exhibitor drove her Aquila’s Jewel to the Junior Pleasure Driving Championship. Tim Roesink guided four-year-old CBMF Stand By Me to the Open Pleasure Driving Championship for Kourt Jester Morgans.


Elizabeth Burick and Bad Company teamed up to add another tricolor to their season in the Amateur English Pleasure Championship directed by Jim and Jenny Taylor. The gorgeous mare Furious Love was guided to victory in the Junior English Pleasure Championship by Nancy Flower and owned by Jeanne Fuelling. In the Open English Pleasure Championship, Shelley Silber presented her Sacred Path Indiana Jones flawlessly to earn the victory pass under the watchful eye of trainer Tim Roesink.


Elizabeth Burick and Bad Company


Dominating the open park harness division was the veteran team of Darwin Olson and Minion Valentino, trained by Brian Stewart. Bri-B XTC and his owner/trainer put on quite a show to claim the Junior Park Harness class. In the Park Saddle Open the blue was awarded to HVK Vibrance in his season debut, ridden by Jenny Taylor for Shipyard Point Morgans. Lookaway’s Fortune with Kathleen Flower in the irons strutted to the Park Saddle Championship for owners Jim and Linda Stewart.


Lookaway’s Fortune and Kathleen Flower


The classic division was well filled with quality entries. In the Classic Saddle Championship it was the handsome IGF Coeur Et Ame and Shelley Silber taking the victory pass for owner Carolyn Gibbard. Lori Sargeant teamed up with her HFF Thrill Seeker to claim the top honor in the Classic Driving Championship.


The saddle seat equitation division was hotly contested as these riders gave their all to be the best. Caitlyn Scholl topped the championship class coached by her mother, Heidi Scholl, and trainer Erin Richey. The AMHA Saddle Seat Medal class was won by young rider Miranda Scholl.


Caitlyn Scholl


The Western Seat Equitation Championship trophy was awarded to Kali Erin Hutchinson instructed by Mary Carlton. Hutchinson was also the Hunt Seat Equitation Champion. Elizabeth Thomas showed off her versatile skills, after winning the Saddle Seat Equitation 17 & Under, to be crowned the AMHA Western Seat Medal Champion, with instructor Erin Richey on the rail. The AMHA Hunt Seat Medal Championship was awarded to Jordyn Draime.


Mary Carlton greeted Kali Erin Hutchinson

and Hillarie Slesinger following their tricolor

sweep in the Hunt Seat Equitation Championship.


Jax Noble Onyx and Abbi Adkins won the Amateur Western Pleasure Championship for owner Kay Foley. In the Open Western Pleasure Championship, Manya LaCascio and Jax Black Jack took the victory pass.


Manya LoCascio and Jax Black Jack


Amateur Hunter Pleasure Champion Boxford Unbridled Passion and D Anne Hayman were a smooth team coming down victory lane. Manya LaCascio gathered another trophy by winning the Open Hunter Pleasure Championship aboard Cozumel.


The walk-trot group featured Hannah Davis as champion followed by Hannie Eliades with Hudson Davis and Hayden Davis tied for top honors in the youngest lead line group.


The Youth of the Year competition held at Buckeye featured senior champion Maggie Macri and reserve champion Erica Frazee. In the junior division, Emily Gill took top honors with Andrea Hall in reserve.

Buckeye Youth Contest award winners

(photo by Terry Young)

Complete show ring results can be found by clicking here.

More Stories