Skip to content

UPHA To Honor Award Recipients at Upcoming UPHA National Conference

The United Professional Horsemen’s Association (UPHA) is pleased to announce its 2022 award recipients. Nominations are submitted by UPHA members and selected by the UPHA Executive Board. The following individuals will be honored for their contributions to UPHA and the show horse industry at the upcoming UPHA National Conference in Orlando, Florida.

Thursday Luncheon, January 5, 2023

UPHA 10, 20, 30, 40, 50 Year Member Recognition - click here for a listing

UPHA Chapter Horse Persons of the Year - click here for a listing

UPHA Chapter Honor Shows - click here for a listing

Dr. Scott Bennett Professional Services Award - Peyton Hamilton

Associate Membership Award - Elizabeth Ghareeb

Thursday Dinner, January 5, 2023

Horse/Pony of the Year Divisional Awards- click here for a listing

Shirley Parkinson Professional Achievement Award - Ann Anderson

Sallie B. Wheeler Distinguished Service Award - Karen Waldron

Friday Luncheon, January 6, 2023

UPHA National Honor Horse Show - UPHA Chapter 14 Spring Premiere

Lillian Shively Equitation Distinguished Service Award - Pam Roush

Tony C. Ray Young Professional of the Year - Caitlin Cooper

Ribbons of Service Platinum and Diamond Level Awards and Scholarship Recipients - click here for a listing

Saturday Dinner, January 7, 2023

UPHA Horse/Pony of the Year Overall Awards - will be determined by Thursday evening vote

Helen K. Crabtree Instructor Hall of Fame - Todd Miles

Richard E. Lavery Professional Horsemen's Award-  Matthew and Whitney Shiflet

Harry Sebring Professional Horseman's Award - Robert Kellert and Mary Cockriel

Larry Bacon Lifetime Achievement Award - Rob and Sarah Byers and the Lavery Family

Alvin C. Ruxer Lifetime Commitment Award - Elisabeth Goth and the Fischer Family

Tom Moore Hall Of Fame - Mike Goebig and Andrew and Lynda Freseth

More information on the UPHA National Conference can be found on the UPHA website HERE. To avoid late charges, those wishing to attend must register and purchase the appropriate meal tickets before the December 12, 2022 deadline.

Congratulations to our honorees! We hope you will join us in celebrating their contributions to UPHA and the show horse industry.  

More Stories

  • Nominations for UPHA Hall of Fame and Lifetime Awards Now Being Accepted

    The United Professional Horsemen's Association is currently seeking nominations for several prestigious awards, including the UPHA Tom Moore Hall of Fame, Helen K. Crabtree Instructor Hall of Fame, Larry Bacon Lifetime Achievement Award, and Alvin C. Ruxer Lifetime Commitment Award... Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 10 24

    Read More
  • New Championship Horse Show Announced for 2025

    The American Saddlebred Horse and Breeders Association (ASHBA) announced today the creation of a New Horse Show Exploratory Committee, led by co-chairs Smith Lilly and Joe O’Brien, whose purpose is to create an exciting new championship horse show in 2025 for the show horse industry, owned by the industry. The new horse show will be organized under a separate 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Read More
  • FoalsNFocus

    There must be something in the air as the foal photos have been flying high. We had a nice mix of artistry in this week’s submissions, including our first dual foal shot of the year. In the Champion category was an Avis shot of a filly feeling good about herself.Owned by Misdee Wrigley Miller, she is by Honorable Kiss NKF out of the great, multi-titled world’s champion of champions, CH HS Baby Steps. Read More
  • The Stephens College $20,000 Scholarship

    The Stephens College $20,000 Scholarship, sponsored by Sally Jackson, will provide $20,000 to a high school junior or senior that competed and qualified for the 2024 UPHA Senior Challenge Cup National Championship, the UPHA Senior Pleasure Challenge Cup National Championship, the UPHA Senior Arabian Challenge Cup National Championship, the UPHA National Show Horse Challenge Cup National Championship or the UPHA Senior Morgan Challenge Cup National Championship. Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 3 24

    Read More
  • Latest Issue 5 27 24

    Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 24 HW

    Read More
  • Morgan Masterpiece Update

    Morgan Masterpiece prize lists are now being mailed and can be viewed on the website: The 2024 show will be held on July 18-20 and offer a full schedule for all Morgan divisions. Read More
  • Latest Issue 5 20 24 Asheville

    Read More