Skip to content

Team Morgan Wins International Equitation Competition

Team Morgan 2012 is the proud gold medal winner at this year's international equitation competition, which took place July 4-7 at the Bluegrass Morgan Classic Horse Show in Lexington, Kentucky. Team USA competed against an equestrian team from South Africa.

This year's competition was different than in years past in that it consisted of three disciplines: saddle seat, hunter seat, and driving. Amanda DuPont, Gerry Rushton, and Karen Homer Brown comprised the three-member judging panel.

Representing Team Morgan 2012 were Lauren Bruss of Columbus, Ohio; Gaetana D'Alesio-Spina of Mendon, Massachusetts; Lauren Foy of Kingston, New Hampshire; Sascha Mills of Goldsby, Oklahoma; Kendra Peeples of Oxford, New Jersey; and Ellery Walker of Marshall, Michigan. Suzanne Habarek of Broadalbin, New York, served as the Team coach, and Carolyn Sebring of Richmond, Massachusetts, was assistant coach.

The top three individual awards in each discipline are as follows:

Hunter Seat on the Flat: 1. Lauren Bruss, USA; 2. Kendra Peeples, USA; 3. Sascha Mills, USA

Saddle Seat: 1. Linda Meintjes, SA; 2. Sascha Mills, USA; 3. Lauren Bruss, USA

Pleasure Driving: 1. Gaetana D'Alesio-Spina, USA; 2. Linda Meintjes, SA; 3. Dedre Cloete, SA

Overall Individual Awards: 1. Lauren Bruss, USA; 2. Sascha Mills, USA

Before presenting the team awards, each team has selected one member of the opposing team that exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and ambassadorship. Team South Africa recognized on USA Team, Sascha Mills; and Team USA recognized Johannes Schutte on Team SA.

AMHA would like to thank those who donated horses as well as the many sponsors and supported this event and made it possible.

More Stories

  • David Rand Clinic To Be Held In Florida

    A weekend with David Rand is going to be held on February 15 and 16 at West Coast Morgans in Odessa, Florida (25 minutes from the Tampa Airport). Rand is the trainer of countless world champions and the winner of prestigious awards from UPHA, AMHA and other associations... Read More
  • World’s Championship Horse Show Judges Selected

    The Kentucky State Fair World’s Championship Horse Show would like to announce the judges for the 2020 show... Read More
  • Elisabeth Goth LLC Consigns Entries to Robertson Equine Sales

    On Saturday, March 28, as many as 75 horses from Elisabeth Goth LLC and/or Elisabeth Goth’s breeding program will be available to the public for the first time at public auction... Read More
  • Obituary – Virginia Ann Hanson

    Virginia Ann Hanson, of Cornwall, Ontario, Canada (formerly of Big Oak Morgan Horse Farm, Lunenburg, Ontario) passed away at age 91. She was born January 14, 1929 in Newton, Massachusetts... Read More
  • Latest Issue 1 20 20

    Read More
  • What Matters? History Matters.

    As we come together next week in Lexington, KY for the UPHA annual convention, it’s interesting to note that the official registration and schedule notes that the UPHA is “joined by the American Hackney Horse Society, the American Morgan Horse Society, the American Road Horse and Pony Association, the American Saddlebred Horse Association, the American Saddlebred Museum, and the American Saddlebred Registry.”  Read More
  • Morgan Stallion Sweeps Set to Draw February 15th | Get Your Tickets Today

    The Morgan Stallion Sweeps, a raffle program featuring services to 15 of the top Morgan Stallions, today announced that tickets will be available at the upcoming UPHA National Conference and the New England Winter Weekend, and will continue to be available online at Read More
  • Complete Dispersal of Dr. Raun's Operations to be Held March 7 at Reedannland, Norwalk, Iowa

    Robertson Equine Sales LLC has been selected to manage the complete dispersal of Dr. Alan Raun’s legendary Reedannland breeding and training operations. Featuring 50-plus American Saddlebred horses of exceptionally choice breeding, all tack, and all equipment and trailers, the consignments are placed by The Estate or Trust of Dr. Alan R. Raun. Read More
  • Saddle Horse Report's 31st Annual World's Champion Sire Rating

    It’s that time of year when the most devoted to our sport, the breeders, pour over the statistics as they make their bloodline matches for the upcoming breeding season. The biggest hope is to find the right cross to produce a foal that will go on to win our most coveted prize: a Louisville blue ribbon. Read More
  • Gayle Lampe to Host Saddle Seat Riding Clinic

    Gayle Lampe is conducting a saddle seat riding clinic at William Woods University in Fulton, Missouri March 1-5, 2020. Riders are welcome to come for as many days as they wish; however, it is recommended to stay for at least three days... Read More