Skip to content

Saddlebred Board Nominations Released

Lexington, Kentucky - Following submission of its proposed slate to the Executive Committee and Board of Directors of the American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASHA) at their meetings on Monday, November 2, the list of nominees standing for election as directors of the Association for terms beginning in February 2010 was released.

In February 2010, six directors are to be elected by ASHA members for terms ending in 2013 from these eight candidates:  Barbara Friedman (Indiana), Minna Hankin (Pennsylvania), Larry Hartsock (Virginia), Charles Herbert (Indiana), William Marple (Texas), Scott Matton (Wisconsin), Jimmy Robertson (Kentucky), and Judith Werner (Illinois). Write-in votes for others are also accepted.

Four of the candidates on the slate (Herbert, Mattson, Robertson, and Werner) are incumbent directors eligible for another term. The other four are also widely experienced and knowledgeable friends and supporters of the American Saddlebred. All candidates meet the requirements in the Association’s bylaws for service as a director, and were selected in an arduous process from over 170 members who were suggested by their fellow members and considered in a series of detailed meetings. The Nominating Committee met formally in six lengthy meetings held from June through October.

Ballots (including biographical information on the candidates) will be mailed in early January, and must be returned by eligible voting members of the Association on or before Friday, February 5, 2010. The election results will be announced at the Association’s convention and annual meeting, to be held from Thursday, February 18, through Saturday, February 20, at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort and Spa in Lexington, Kentucky.

"The entire group of potential candidates was exceptionally well-qualified," said Dr. Margaret C. McNeese, chair of the 2009 Nominating Committee, "and successive Nominating Committees over several years have refined the process to be certain that nominees on the ballot meet the detailed requirements in our Association bylaws. All those considered each year are forwarded to the next Nominating Committee so we can continue to expand the list of those who are available for this demanding volunteer service. I would say our only regret is that two of the exceptionally well-qualified people we’re putting forward will not be elected, since there are only six openings on the board each year."

Biographies of each of the candidates and their personal statements will be posted at as soon as available, prior to the mailing of election ballots.

More Stories

  • A Memorable First Trip To Oklahoma

    Taylor Ladd arrived in Oklahoma to compete for the first time this year, but she had the success of a seasoned veteran. The walk-trot rider left the fairgrounds with two World Championships, one Reserve World Championship, and three Grand National titles under the direction of Taylor River Farm. Read More
  • Highlights from Morgan Grand National

    Enjoy the victory passes and interviews from Oklahoma City on ReporTV! Read More
  • REPORT Leaderboard MGN FINAL

    It's official! The REPORT Leaderboard for the 2017 Morgan Grand National and World Championship Horse Show is final. Wow!  All the hard work all year really paid off! Congratulations to all the winners - blue ribbon and otherwise!


    Read More
  • Interview at Sterling Training Center

    In the interview that follows, trainer Katie Mair and owners Mary and Natalie Golota share their thoughts following Katie's win with As Predicted GCH at the Morgan Grand National.  Read More
  • Interview at Cater Stables

    In the interview that follows, trainer Kristen Cater and proud owner Lila Tater share their thoughts following Kristen's victory in Hunter Pleasure with Epona's Mo'O Lio GCH at Morgan Grand National.  Read More
  • Interview at Fire Stables Equestrian

    In the interview that follows, Elaine Galatz, Hannah McBain, Phil Fountain and Julianne Rafferty of Fire Stables Equestrian share their thoughts following a successful Morgan Grand National. Read More
  • REPORT Leaderboard MGN Thru Friday

    With only Saturday's finale performances to go, here's how the blue ribbon counts go in the REPORT Leaderboard through end of day Friday, October 13. Read More
  • A Family Bond

    The Youth of the Year contest tests the skills of young equestrian each year at the Morgan Grand National. Selina Cloutier had the honor of winning this prestigious competition in 1998, and this year, her daughter Clea is competing for the same title. Read More
  • Another Record Breaking Performance

    Morgan Grand National fans were treated to a history making performance on Thursday afternoon as Arcadia, Oklahoma resident Chloe Farischon became the first junior exhibitor to win the World Champion Four-Year-Old English Pleasure title. Read More
  • REPORT Leaderboard MGN Thru Thursday

    It's coming down to the wire and the competition is so close. Check out the REPORT Leaderboard standings as of Thursday, October 12. Read More