Skip to content

"Nothing But The Truth" - Trainers' Tales


Everyone loves a good horse story. "Nothing But The Truth" is a rare collection of humorous and interesting horsemen's stories. These stories are written as each was told, word by word. Merrill Murray, David Mountjoy, Dudley Abbott, Carter Cox, Dale Sloat, Marty Mueller, Lonnie Lavery, Paul St. Charles, Jimmy Robertson, Claude Shiflet, Tommy Clouse, Jim Aikman, Bob Brison, Randy Cates, Raymond Shively, John Conatser, Steve Demjen, Jim Taylor, Jim McIntosh, Janet Keesling, Scott Matton, Danette Musselman, Richard Obenauf, Phil Price, John Scott, Rob Wilson, Ellen Beard-Arnold, Ed Bennett, Tom Sworm, Phyllis Harris, Lisa Uhde, Chuck Herbert, Pat Kennedy, Bob Jenkins, Munford Greer and Larry Carver tell stories on themselves and others.

This is the first volume of "Nothing But The Truth." Additional trainers' stories will be published in two or more volumes. Volume II will be available in November 2007 and Volume III will be available in November 2008.

Stories were collected and written by Sandra McIntosh and will be published and sold by UPHA Chapter 11. All proceeds will benefit UPHA Chapter 11.

The first volume is now available for mailing. The cost is $15 plus postage. To place your order please visit or send a check along with the name and address to where the book should be sent to:

Mindy Preston
809 Sunset Drive
Noblesville, IN 46060


More Stories

  • Nominations for UPHA Hall of Fame and Lifetime Awards Now Being Accepted

    The United Professional Horsemen's Association is currently seeking nominations for several prestigious awards, including the UPHA Tom Moore Hall of Fame, Helen K. Crabtree Instructor Hall of Fame, Larry Bacon Lifetime Achievement Award, and Alvin C. Ruxer Lifetime Commitment Award... Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 10 24

    Read More
  • New Championship Horse Show Announced for 2025

    The American Saddlebred Horse and Breeders Association (ASHBA) announced today the creation of a New Horse Show Exploratory Committee, led by co-chairs Smith Lilly and Joe O’Brien, whose purpose is to create an exciting new championship horse show in 2025 for the show horse industry, owned by the industry. The new horse show will be organized under a separate 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. Read More
  • FoalsNFocus

    There must be something in the air as the foal photos have been flying high. We had a nice mix of artistry in this week’s submissions, including our first dual foal shot of the year. In the Champion category was an Avis shot of a filly feeling good about herself.Owned by Misdee Wrigley Miller, she is by Honorable Kiss NKF out of the great, multi-titled world’s champion of champions, CH HS Baby Steps. Read More
  • The Stephens College $20,000 Scholarship

    The Stephens College $20,000 Scholarship, sponsored by Sally Jackson, will provide $20,000 to a high school junior or senior that competed and qualified for the 2024 UPHA Senior Challenge Cup National Championship, the UPHA Senior Pleasure Challenge Cup National Championship, the UPHA Senior Arabian Challenge Cup National Championship, the UPHA National Show Horse Challenge Cup National Championship or the UPHA Senior Morgan Challenge Cup National Championship. Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 3 24

    Read More
  • Latest Issue 5 27 24

    Read More
  • Latest Issue 6 24 HW

    Read More
  • Morgan Masterpiece Update

    Morgan Masterpiece prize lists are now being mailed and can be viewed on the website: The 2024 show will be held on July 18-20 and offer a full schedule for all Morgan divisions. Read More
  • Latest Issue 5 20 24 Asheville

    Read More