Skip to content

New ASHA Board seated; Registry Directors, Nominating Committee elected

, Kentucky ­– The American Saddlebred Horse Association’s 2006 Saddlebred Summit and Annual Meeting business concluded Saturday afternoon, February 18, prior to a sold-out Saddlebred Ball, with the first meeting of the newly elected board of directors. 


The board seated new directors-elect who began three-year terms of service, William Blacklaw of Oregon, Louise Gilliland of Oklahoma, and Jim Ruwoldt of Georgia.  Returning directors elected to begin another three-year term are Mary Anne Cronan of Kentucky, Nelson Green of Kentucky, and Kay Richardson of Illinois.  Following a report of the Nominating Committee for Officers, Fred Sarver was elected to serve as president, Misdee Wrigley as first vice president, Mary Anne Cronan as second vice president, Mary Ann Pardieck as Secretary, and David Howard as Treasurer. 


The board also elected nine Association members to be the directors of the American Saddlebred Registry, which will meet shortly to elect their own officers.  Registry directors will be Joan Hamilton of Kentucky, David Howard of Tennessee, Rick Luft of Wisconsin, Spencer Mains of North Carolina, Mary Ann Pardieck of Indiana, Alan Raun of Iowa, Jim Ruwoldt of Georgia, Fred Sarver of Kentucky, and Anne Stafford of Tennessee.


Per the ASHA bylaws, following several nominations from the floor members present in person or by proxy at the Annual Meeting voted for two members of the new Nominating Committee to select directors to stand for election to terms beginning in February 2007.  Betsy Boone of North Carolina and Carson Kressley of New York were elected.  Completing the five-member Nominating Committee, the board elected members Kay Richardson (Illinois) and Art Zubrod (Kentucky) to join Boone and Kressley, and the president appointed Mary Anne Cronan to chair the committee.  The board also urged that all possible means of outreach to the entire membership be used to solicit qualified candidates from around the country for consideration. 


Finally, to fill the one vacancy on the Association’s 18-member board opened with the resignation of Carter Cox in January, for a term ending in January 2007, the board held an open secret-ballot election among 3 candidates, and Scott Matton of Wisconsin was elected to the unexpired term.


More Stories

  • REPORT Leaderboard

    Saddle Horse Report is pleased to present the New REPORT Leaderboard winners which tabulates the leading trainers and sires, both within the American Saddlebred and Hackney Pony classes, at the 2017 World's Championship Horse Show through the end of classes on Sunday, August 20. Read More
  • Sunday Matinee Highlights From WCHS

                The second session of the 2017 World’s Championship Horse Show got underway at noon on Sunday with 15 classes, namely four splits of the Adult Show Pleasure class, older age group equitation classes, open park qualifiers, amateur road pony and horse classes, gaited ponies and an amateur gentlemen’s long-tail class. Read More
  • Honor Society

    Kathy Humphries and Honor Society were reserve in Sunday afternoon’s Amateur Junior Hackney Pleasure Driving Pony class. Longtime friend and trainer Myra Williams worked it out for them to become a team and move to Majestic Oaks to pursue Kathy’s dream of showing her pony at Louisville under the Campbell’s direction. Read More
  • Instant Connection

    A last minute substitution turned out great for Jordyn Isgrigg and Reedann's Fantastic Design. Read More
  • Opening Night At The World's Championship Horse Show

            The 114th World’s Championship Horse Show got underway Saturday night, August 19 with 89 teams competing in the opening session. As tradition dictates it was County Fair night with seven championships held. Rich and Maureen Campbell’s Majestic Oaks won all three pony classes with Maureen driving Regal’s Norma Jean LF, Regal’s Prime Rate LF and Heartland Infinity to the roses. Read More
  • Latest Issue Aug 21 17

    Read More
  • AMHA Regional Shows to Continue

    The AMHA Board of Directors voted at its August 12 third quarter meeting to continue the Regional Show Program with changes to its criteria beginning with the 2018 show season... Read More
  • 2017 Land Of Lincoln Purebred Livestock Breeder’s Award – Paul Briney

    Paul Briney of Chatham, Illinois, has ben a strong advocate for purebred equine in the State of Illinois for over 50 years. He was instrumental in the development of the Horsemen’s Council of Illinois (HCI) established in 1982... Read More
  • Portrait of Dabora Founder

    A portrait of David L. Howard, founder of Saddle Horse Report, was hung today at the Dabora offices in Shelbyville, Tenn., to honor his memory. Howard passed away unexpectedly in December of 2016... Read More
  • Louisiana Fall Festival Horse Show Announces Improvements, Officials

    The 2017 edition of the Louisiana Fall Festival Horse Show will have new dates and improved stalls, Show Manager Tommy Benton announced. The show will be held Oct. 6 - 8 at the historic John M. Parker Coliseum on the Louisiana State University campus in Baton Rouge... Read More