Skip to content

Nat'l Championship Pleasure Show Will End

The National Championship Pleasure Horse Show originated as the International Championship Pleasure Horse Show in 1975, and Irene Zane and Bill Thompson were the founders of the show.

In 1985, the name was changed to The National Championship Pleasure Horse Show, and Paul Briney was the manager and Linda Porick was executive secretary. Pat Antonacci, Sally Jo Briney, Ann Carroll, Charlotte Hamilton, Florence Merkin, Diana Schaefer, and Bob and Denise Trethaway made up the original show committee. Dawn Atlas, Ann Carroll and Diana Schaefer created the concept of the Pleasure Equitation Olympics class, Denise Trethaway helped to set the rules and guidelines, and Diane Maroscia designed and cast the gold, silver and bronze medals.

In 2000, Kay Richardson and Jennifer Del Bosque created and sponsored the $3,500 Challenge Class for junior members of the American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASIYP).

This show's need to exist has come and gone. It was created for the purpose of showing the American Saddlebred to the public as a pleasure horse in many different disciplines: saddle seat, hunt seat, western, working, driving, equitation, show pleasure and country pleasure.

Now that the pleasure horse division has grown to major proportions, and all the trainers, owners and horse shows support the pleasure division, the NCPHS committee voted to discontinue this show.

The very successful and prestigious National Pleasure Equitation Olympics Finals will continue, and be moved to another show in the fall of 2005. Everything will remain the same for these finals. Contact Dale Arnston (815-485-8963) or the American Saddlebred Horse Association for the brochure and official tabulation card.

More Stories

  • Morgan Honors at USEF Convention

    AMHA is pleased to congratulate Morgan trainer Mike Goebig of Kutztown, Pennsylvania, as the 2017 Pegasus Medal of Honor recipient. Mike received this great honor at last evening's US Equestrian's awards dinner... Read More
  • NWSA Fall Classic Selects Judge

    The Northwest Saddlebred Association Fall Classic Horse Show has named Bill Waller to be the judge for this year’s show. The event is scheduled for Sept. 19-22, 2018 at the Oregon Horse Center in Eugene, Oregon. Read More
  • Freedman's Announces Release of New Saddle Pad

    Freedman’s is proud to launch their newest product, The Freedman Acavallo Memory Foam Gel Pad. The Freedman Acavallo Memory Foam Gel Pad is a full compression, non-slip pad, specifically designed to fit discreetly under Freedman’s cut back saddles... Read More
  • Far West Morgan Regional Joins Country Classic

    The Far West Morgan Regional Championship Horse Show has big changes in store for participants in 2018. Last year Far West was held in conjunction with the Oregon Morgan Classic at the Oregon Horse Center in June. Read More
  • River Ridge Charity Selects Judging Panel

    River Ridge Charity is fast approaching and is scheduled for Wednesday through Saturday, April 25-28, 2018 at the Ohio Exposition Center in Columbus, Ohio... Read More
  • ASHA Welcomes New Directors For 2018

    The American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASHA) is pleased to announce the election of seven (7) new members to its Board of Directors, who will join the Board at the UPHA & ASHA Conference, which will host the ASHA annual meeting on February 1, 2018. Read More
  • David L. Howard to be Honored for Lifetime Achievement

    The American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASHA) has announced its annual award recipients, based on ballots tabulated by the ASHA Board of Directors. Nominees for each award are received from the general membership and committee volunteers, screened by the ASHA Executive Committee, and voted on by the full Board from the candidates selected. Read More
  • Iowa Horse Shows Associations Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet

    The Iowa Horse Shows Association will hold their annual meeting and awards banquet on Saturday, February 10, 2018 at The Prairie Meadows Event Center, Altoona, IA. Events begin at 3:30 PM with the annual membership meeting of the Iowa Horse Shows Association followed by the Iowa American Saddlebred Association meeting. At 5:30 PM the American Saddlebred Futurity of Iowa will hold their Stallion Service Auction. The Banquet and Awards ceremony will begin at 7 PM. Read More
  • 2018 AMHA Convention Schedule

    Come celebrate Valentine’s Day with your favorite breed and those who share the same passion as you at the Hyatt Regency in Lexington, Kentucky, for the 2018 AMHA Annual Convention and Awards Gala... Read More
  • Jubilee Regional Morgan Horse Show Takes Hiatus for 2018

    Due to continued uncertainty at the Illinois State Fairgrounds, the committee for the Jubilee Regional Morgan Horse Show has voted to take a one-year hiatus from hosting the show traditionally held at the Illinois State Fairgrounds in Springfield at the end of August... Read More