Skip to content

Family Fun Abounds At Michigan All Morgan

By Laurie Hipps


The Michigan All Morgan horse show brought fun for the entire family.  With activities and competitions for the youth, dinners and parties for all exhibitors, the Michigan Justin Morgan Horse Association made the Shiawassee fairgrounds come to life from July 13th through the 16th.


This year the Michigan All Morgan Horse Show celebrated its 55th anniversary with entertainment such as an exhibitors’ dinner with the live band Motown Beat made possible by the gold sponsor Damian Hyde Stables; silver sponsors Sterling Training Center and Hillcrest Stables; and bronze sponsors For the Glory Morgan Farm along with Pine Knoll Farms. An ice cream social kept the festivities going, sponsored by Morgan Valley Farm.


Harold Angell from Las Vegas judged the In-hand, Park, Classic, and English Pleasure classes, as well as Saddle Seat Equitation and the Horsemastership Patterns. Jonalyn Gwinup of Tulsa, Oklahoma judged Sport Horse Suitability, Western and Hunter Pleasure and Equitation, Trail, Hunter Hack, Carriage, and Walk-Trot. Karen Hunchberger from Michigan judged the dressage classes. Sue Hall kept everything in order as the show manager, while Sara Ressler was the show secretary. Announcer Dennis Rumsey called out the class placings as photographer Debbie Uecker-Keough snapped pictures of the contestants. 


Show secretary Sara Ressler kept

the busy show office organized.


The Youth of the Year contest was held on Wednesday, with nine seniors, four juniors, and ten walk-trot competitors. Everyone was eager to begin, with more than $8,000 worth of prizes available. The youth began by judging two in-hand classes and two pleasure classes. After completing their oral reasons, the group enjoyed a pizza lunch, and prepared for their presentations. The presentations gave the youth a chance to show their creativity, devotion, and love for the Morgan horse. The written test finished the long day of competition for the youth, leaving the patterns to be ridden on Thursday and Friday. 


Before the Youth Of The Year Contest presentation ceremony on Saturday evening, everyone took a moment to thank the sponsors for their generous donations. These sponsors included the MJMHA, MMHBF, Kim Germ, Designs by MJ, Becky Veltema of DeRegnaucourt, the Christopher family, Kristina Terry, and Hallmark Promotions. Many tack shops supported the competition with prizes in gift certificates to the Hitching Post, Crestview Tack, Northville Saddlery, The Wire Horse, Classic Saddlery, Dana’s Doodles, and K Enterprises Sterling Jewelry. Jessica Marino was thrilled to win in the senior division, followed by Celia Salmon, both qualifying to represent Michigan in Oklahoma’s Youth of the Year Contest Finals. In the junior division, Ellery Walker won the overall competition with Marie Wallich as reserve.  Jenny Miller took home the first place title in the walk and trot division, as Abigail Jacobi earned the title of reserve.


The Youth of the Year winners diplay their

awards following the intense competition.


Although the park division was small, the competition was fierce. On Eagle’s Wings, ridden by Gillian Nelson took home the tricolor ribbon in the Open Park Championship along with the blue ribbon in the amateur park saddle class, followed by Will-O-Way In Due Time and Celia Salmon as the reserve winner. Stage Rage Ruby won the open park saddle with Melinda Hyde on board.


The English Pleasure division saw a nice turnout, in both the amateur and open classes. Inner Vision took home the championship ribbon in the English Pleasure Championship ridden by Dawn Renee Bien, followed by Upnorth Regal Cresent with Katie Lash in reserve. In the English Pleasure Amateur Championship, Le French Renaissance won the championship title, with Bellagio and Laurie Moses taking home the reserve. 


In the Classic Pleasure Championship, HVK Drive Em Crazy took home the tricolor ribbon ridden by Janice Lazar after winning the senior qualifier, while Coalition X-Static and Lynda Graves followed in reserve. 


One of the most popular divisions was hunter pleasure, where classes were as large as 18 horses. HDP Noble Warrior won both the open and amateur Hunter Pleasure Championships, with Mary Carlton and Paula Messier. Cozy Cole Rambo followed closely behind as reserve champion in the open while Rare Aire and Marlena Klimkiwicz did likewise in the amateur. 


The Western pleasure division displayed the versatility of the Morgan horse, bringing a change from the English divisions. The Open Western Pleasure Championship was won by Tampa Bay, ridden by Lori Marino-Beasley, followed in reserve by Ultra’s Special Force (ridden by Melinda Hyde) whose elegance proved to be supreme when he took home the championship ribbon in the Western Pleasure Amateur Championship, with Terry King aboard. Lori Weinderhold and SVM Pac Man picked up the reserve tricolor in the amateur division.


Laurie Wiederhold and SVM Pac Man


The walk-trot divisions covered saddle seat, hunter seat, and western.  In the English pleasure division, Cameron Kay and Sarde’s Sinful took home the championship ribbon, followed by Nemours Courageous and Katie Hicks. Cedar Creek Times Square was ridden to first place by Miranda Hengy in both the Walk Trot Hunt Seat Equitation Championship and the Walk Trot Hunt Seat Pleasure Championship. In the Walk Trot Western Pleasure Championship, Briarlane Above Regala-T took home first, ridden by Nikki Liedel. The reserve champion was Morgan Valley Apollo with Jenny Miller on board who won the championship ribbon in Walk Trot Western Equitation. 


Jessica Marino greeted walk-trotters

Miranda Hengy and Abbie Cornelius


The equitation classes brought junior exhibitors from western seat, hunt seat, and saddle seat, competing for the championship ribbons in each division. For the 13 and under sections, Ellery Walker rode Fairchild Skyway to first place in western seat equitation, as David Knupp and Cozy Cole Courageous earned the tricolor ribbon in the hunt seat division. Annie Thurber and D-D-M Night Wind took their victory pass after winning the 13 and Under Saddle Seat Equitation Championship. In the 14-17 division, Kali Erin Hutchinson took home the top honors with Hylee’s Fanflaire in the Western Seat Equitation Championship, as Lindsey Greenfelder and Hawkwood High Command rode their way to tricolor in the Hunt Seat Equitation Championship. Jordan Cusumano was honored to take home the championship ribbon with Syndicat Tiger Eye in the Saddle Seat Equitation division. 


The Michigan All Morgan Horse Show had every element of a successful show including dinner, ice cream, youth activities, and of course, Morgan horses. People of all ages enjoyed the festivities as the tradition of the Michigan All Morgan Horse Show carries on. Complete show ring results can be found by clicking here.


The Crystal Farms tack room

was filled with top ribbons from

 a great week of competition.


Damian Hyde Stables showed off the spoils

of their hard work at Michigan All Morgan.








More Stories