Skip to content

EQUUS Announces 2020 Horse Stars Hall of Fame Inductees

The Horse Stars Hall of Fame was established by the EQUUS Foundation and the United States Equestrian Federation (USEF) in 2013 to celebrate the extraordinary talent of horses and their magical powerful bond with people. The USEF inducts the horses recognized annually as “Horses of Honor” for their stellar athletic performances. The EQUUS Foundation inducts horses who have had an inspirational impact on the public as companions, teachers and healers.

One of this year’s inductees was Zander fan Camelot Ster, who in 2019 enjoyed a fourth undefeated show season in USEF and International Friesian Show Horse Association (IFSHA) competition for owner Victoria Gillenwater. Shown saddle seat by trainer Jacques Van Niekerk, “Zander” won an IFSHA/USEF regional English Pleasure Saddle Seat Open and Park Saddle championship, as well as IFSHA’s World and Grand National Championship English Pleasure Saddle Seat Stallion/Gelding title. Zander also collected champion honors for the USEF National Friesian Saddle Seat Horse of the Year for the second consecutive year.

A pillar in the saddle seat show community for his talent and nature, Zander capped his season by foregoing his usual division to show in the charitable All Glory Benefit class at the IFSHA World and Grand National Championships, where he duly won the first All Discipline Trainer’s Challenge that benefited the All Glory Project to support veterans.

Zander has also carried his only two riders in his career to win USEF Equestrian of Honor Awards, the CJ “June” Cronan Award  for his trainer Jacques Van Niekerk (2014) and his owner Victoria Gillenwater (2018). They are the only professional/amateur team to achieve this honor.

More Stories