Skip to content

Equestrian Division at WWU Honors Students with Awards



FULTON, MO—William Woods University equestrian students were honored May 1 at the Equestrian Awards Reception for their hard work, academics and dedication to the field.


Erin Johnson of Forsyth, Mont., received the Vera Chenoweth Award as the overall outstanding  equestrian science graduate. The recipient of this award must be an accomplished horseperson, as well as the person who has given the most service to the entire division over four years. 


Janelle Kessler of Eden Prairie Minn., and Erin Meyer of Seneca, S.C., received the Atkinson Achievement Award. The award honors the equestrian science major who has demonstrated the most growth as rider and horseperson during his or her time at William Woods.


Kathryn Droske of Texarkana, Texas, was named Distinguished Scholar for Equestrian Science, and Esther Holleman of the Netherlands was named Distinguished Scholar for Equine Administration. Distinguished Scholars are the graduating seniors with the highest accumulative GPA who have also demonstrated the ideals of the equestrian studies division.


Erin Meyer of Seneca, S.C., received the Dressage Appreciation Award.  Jessica Brown of Lock Port, N.Y, received the Hunter/Jumper Appreciation Award.  Carol Fountain of Springfield, Neb., and Molly Bosick of Kasilof, Alaska, received Western Appreciation Awards.


Amanda Wright of Ilion, N.Y., Jamie Bender of Springfield, Neb., and Elizabeth Duggan, of Clearwater, Fla. received the Saddle Seat Appreciation Award.

More Stories