Skip to content

ASHBA Select Series Improving and Expanding for 2021

The ASHBA National Select Series, is expanding and improving for the 2021 show season! This program debuted to much excitement and success during a very challenging 2020 competition season. 1000 American Saddlebreds and members had an increased opportunity to compete for additional recognition and enjoyment last year. Whether it was through one of the three virtual show sessions offered during the lockdown or one of the eight 2020 ASHA National Select Series Regional Championships that were held across the country, the National Select Series brought Saddlebred Smiles to our community in 2020. In addition to the beautiful specialty ribbons, champion hats and halters, and State Line Tack special competitor offers, all participants who declared a horse and competed at a 2020 Regional Championship were entered into a drawing for a John Deere X330 lawn mower valued at over $3,000. The 2020 winner of the John Deere lawn mower Haeleigh Anderson of East Peoria, IL who competed in the Select Series with her mare Ashlyn’s Beach Nut.

For 2021, the ASHBA has worked with the Saddlebreds Across America Committee to tailor the program to a better product for ASHA members and bring more opportunities and value to the experience of showing at our breed shows.

The ASHBA is proud to welcome the American Hackney Horse Society and American Road Horse and Pony Association to our National Select Series program. Three additional classes have been added to the program for these horses, ponies, and exhibitors. Our industry is stronger together and we are thrilled that the ASHBA National Select Series can be a part of securing a better future for the sport we all love.

“The American Hackney Horse Society is excited for the opportunity to work with ASHBA and ARPHA on the National Select Series.” Shared AHHS President Maureen Quackenbush, “We believe the Series will help strengthen and expand opportunities for the Hackney middle market by providing classes where ponies of the same relative level can compete against one another.”

“The ARHPA is looking forward to having the Road Horse division offered in the ASHBA National Select Series program for 2021. We hope to see this class for Road Horse to Bike brings more opportunities for our members and road horse enthusiasts at more regional shows,” shared ARHPA President James Nicholas.

Some of the most prominent changes are an updated class list, a full slate of American Saddlebred classes for Amateur/Junior Exhibitors, strengthened regions, qualification requirements for 2021 ASHBA National Select Series Regional Championships, and added classes and divisions.

ASHBA National Select Series 2021 Class List
These classes will all be held under regular USEF rules and specifications of each applicable breed rulebook. Horses that have shown at World’s Championship Horse Show in that calendar year will not be allowed to enter these classes at the ASHBA National Select Series Regional Championships.
American Saddlebred 
Amateur/Junior Exhibitor Five-Gaited
Amateur/Junior Exhibitor Three-Gaited
Amateur/Junior Exhibitor Park
Adult/Junior Exhibitor Five-Gaited Show Pleasure
Adult/Junior Exhibitor Three-Gaited Show Pleasure
Adult/Junior Exhibitor Country Pleasure
Adult/Junior Exhibitor Show Pleasure Driving
Adult/Junior Exhibitor Country Pleasure Driving
ASB Country Western Pleasure
ASB Country Hunter Pleasure
Hackney Pony
Adult/Junior Exhibitor Hackney Pleasure Driving
Open Roadster Pony to Bike
Road Horse
Open Road Horse to Bike

ASHBA National Select Series Circuit Regions 
The country has been divided and ASHBA Regions combined into 8 Regions (see below) for the Select Series Circuit with championships held at selected shows. To be eligible for the Regional Championships an entry must have shown in (1) Select Series class at a qualifying show in that region in that calendar year. Horses can qualify for more than one Regional Championship by showing in a qualifier in those respective regions.

Arizona, California, Oregon, Washington, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Alberta British Columbia
Iowa, Missouri, Colorado, Kansas, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota
Texas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Mississippi
Illinois, Wisconsin, Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Ontario (London)
Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Tennessee
North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia
REGION 11/12
Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, Maryland, Delaware, Ontario (Toronto)

More Info/Join Now

More Stories