Skip to content

ASHA Director Nancy Boone named liaison to the Charter Club Council


Lexington, Kentucky ­– American Saddlebred Horse Association President Fred Sarver has named ASHA Director Nancy Boone of Concord, North Carolina, the liaison from the Board of Directors to the newly formed Charter Club Council.


The Charter Club Council was formed to create more efficient communication channels between ASHA Charter Clubs and the ASHA Board of Directors.  Twenty individuals have been selected to form the new Charter Club Council.  Two council members from each United States Equestrian Federation-sanctioned region were selected from the submitted nominations.  Regions one and two, three and four, and six and seven were grouped together respectively.  Two international nominees were also selected to comprise the 20-member council.


This council will work to give a stronger voice to Charter Clubs within the ASHA structure, as well as give charter clubs more direct contact to the board of directors. 


Boone was selected by Sarver because of her willingness to serve and as a result of her great dedication to her local charter club, the American Saddlebred Association of the Carolinas (ASAC).  Boone has been a member of ASAC since 1981 and has served a number of roles within the 700-member charter club, including treasurer, director, youth advisor and vice president.


The Charter Club Council was introduced to a number of leaders of charter clubs around the country during the Charter Club Workshop at the Saddlebred Summit in Lexington, Kentucky, February 16.  Council members and charter club leaders discussed the role of the Charter Club Council, as well as ASHA Regional Championships, various awards programs, improving communication efforts, protecting land for equestrian use, and more.


The following are members of the ASHA Charter Club Council:


Regions 1 & 2

Melitta Lueck – Aloha, Oregon

Barbara Molland – Petaluma, California


Regions 3 & 4

Brian Curran – Oakfield, Wisconsin

Dr. Shelagh Roell – Brookfield, Wisconsin


Region 5

Sally McClure Jackson – Overland Park, Kansas

Jennifer Del Bosque – Romeoville, Illinois


Regions 6 & 7

Candee Carlson – Plano, Texas

Jean Huffstickler – Houston, Texas


Region 8

Mozelle “Moe” Anson – Louisville, Kentucky

Dawn Kendrick – Indianapolis, Indiana


Region 9

Betsy Boone – Concord, North Carolina

Brenda Pulis – Florence, South Carolina


Region 10

Jackie Hale – Columbiana, Alabama

Doug Norton – Covington, Georgia


Region 11

Curt Melick – Lemoyne, Pennsylvania

Shirley Trail – Rock, West Virginia


Region 12

Bob Funkhouser – Franklin, Massachusetts

E. Susan Vine – Boxborough, Massachusetts



Cheryl Lutring – United Kingdom

Richard Mackenzie – Ontario, Canada

More Stories

  • Tuesday Evening Summary

    We thought Monday night was stellar, and it was, but tonight’s session might have stepped it up to even another level. For those who preach doom and gloom for the American Saddlebred and Hackney you certainly couldn’t tell it here, in the house where legends are made. Read More
  • REPORT Leaderboard

    Saddle Horse Report is pleased to bring you the REPORT Leaderboard from the World's Championship Horse Show through the end of classes on Tuesday, August 22. Read More
  • Monday Night Action

    Welcome to prime time! That’s exactly what the Monday evening session was. The big shooters came out in droves as the lineup of classes offered was spectacular.  Read More
  • X-Tremely Enthusiastic

    Ryan Barlowe (l) and Jason Harrell with X-Tremely Grand, the pony they co-own. Barlowe showed the pony Monday evening at Louisville and was top three in the Amateur Gentleman’s Hackney Pony class. Read More
  • Tuesday Matinee High Points

    Classes were extremely well filled on Tuesday morning with several being split. It also turned out to be a record-breaking morning of dual wins for several exhibitors and one horse. Read More
  • REPORT Leaderboard

    Saddle Horse Report is pleased to expand our Leaderboard standings to include Leading Amateurs, Junior Exhibitors, Owners, Professional Exhibitors, Hackney Trainers and Exhibitors in addition to the Leading Trainers and Leading Sires from the World's Championship Horse Show through the end of classes on Monday, August 19. Stay tuned for the latest developments. Read More
  • Sunday Night Excitement

    With the Junior Exhibitor Park class being split, 14 events were held on the Sunday evening session, which started at 6:30 p.m. with the ASR Sweepstakes Four-Year-Old Fine Harness class. That class gave the general spectators their thrill for the night as Debbie Foley lost a wheel on her buggy and the horse got loose momentarily. Everything ended okay but she could not get everything back together in the allotted time.  Read More
  • Interview at Country Meadow

    In the interview that follows, trainer Julie Ann Wroble and Lauren Beck share their thoughts following Lauren's win aboard I'm A Holiday at the World's Championship Horse Show on Sunday evening. Read More
  • Monday Matinee Highlights

    The first 9:00 a.m. session of the week kicked off Monday's competition with a couple younger age group equitation classes and a slew of pleasure classes for both the American Saddlebreds and Hackneys. Read More
  • REPORT Leaderboard

    Saddle Horse Report is pleased to present the New REPORT Leaderboard winners which tabulates the leading trainers and sires, both within the American Saddlebred and Hackney Pony classes, at the 2017 World's Championship Horse Show through the end of classes on Sunday, August 20. Read More