Skip to content

ASHA Annual Award Recipients Announced

Press Release from ASHA

The American Saddlebred Horse Association (ASHA) has announced its annual award recipients, based on ballots tabulated by the ASHA Board of Directors.

Nominees for each award are received from the general membership and committee volunteers, screened by the ASHA Executive Committee, and voted on by the full Board from the candidates selected. The awards are presented at the UPHA Convention in New Orleans.

The complete list of ASHA Major Awards recipients is as follows:

Lifetime Achievement – Joan Lurie, Simpsonville, Kentucky

Breeders Hall of Fame – Mary Gaylord McClean, Simpsonville, Kentucky 

Breeder of the Year 2016 – Scott Hagan, Louisville, Kentucky

Horse of the Year – Top Of The Mark, owned by: Golden Creek Farms, Inc., Simpsonville, Kentucky 

C.J. “June” Cronan Sportsmanship – William Marple, Dallas, Texas

Mrs. Lurline Roth Sportsmanship – Kathy Capsuto-Walker, Shelbyville, Kentucky

Meritorious Service – Charles Herbert, Jr., Evansville, Indiana 

Wing Commander Medal – Nancy Leigh-Fisher, Oconomowoc, Wisconsin; Carolyn Koch, Chapel Hill, North Carolina; Mollie Kregor, Lexington, Kentucky 

Gillenwater Family Trophy – Lackey/Sanchez Family, Hiddenite, North Carolina 

Frank Ogletree Youth Award – Eleanor & Caroline Rainbolt-Forbes, Oklahoma, City, Oklahoma 

Visit the ASHA Major Awards page for more information pertaining to the criteria for each award. 

More Stories