Skip to content

ASAW Announces Scholarships

The American Saddlebred Association of Wisconsin will be awarding three scholarships at the ASAW Summer Fun Horse Show in hopes to promote involvement in ASAW and commitment to leadership, sportsmanship and community service.

Eligibility includes one of the following: An individual membership in ASAW, or a member of an ASAW family membership, high school senior or older; an individual participating in an American Saddlebred academy program; a 4-H Saddlebred participant; or an individual enrolled in a horse science program. An individual may only be a recipient of scholarship funds twice.

One of the scholarships to be awarded at the Summer Fun Horse Show will be the Melvin and Marlon Meyer Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $3,000. This will be awarded specifically to a graduating high school senior. Secondly, the ASAW Scholarship will be in the amount of $3,000. In 2005 a third scholarship in the amount of $1,000 will be offered. The scholarships will be paid to the educational institute of the winners’ choice in the first semester following the awarding of the scholarships.

Each applicant, who must be planning to attend college or technical school, must submit the following materials by March 31, 2005: A completed application form, their high school transcript, a paragraph (on a separate sheet of paper) explaining the applicants interest in the scholarship, a letter of recommendation from a teacher or administrator, a letter of recommendation from an ASAW member affirming the applicant's contribution to the American Saddlebred Association of Wisconsin, or a letter of recommendation from the applicants 4-H program or academy instructor.

The criteria for judging includes the following: character, scholastic record, evidence of intellectual promise and demonstrated ambition and leadership.

All scholarship application forms must be mailed to Mary Markwiese, 2840 North 84th Street, Milwaukee, WI 53222. Applications must be post marked on or before March 31, 2005. Application forms may be received by contacting Nancy Turner at 262-367-2391 or Mary Hanrahan Bushard, president ASAW Scholarship Fund at 920-994-4909 or e-mail Bushard at

More Stories

  • Bobbie Jo Jaakkola Wins AMHA Young Adult Alliance Judging School Scholarship

    The American Morgan Horse Association Young Adult Alliance (YAA) presented their fifth annual Judging School Scholarship to Bobbie Jo Jaakkola of Northwell, Michigan. The Professional Development Project created by this passionate group awards a $1,500 scholarship to one individual aged 21-40, professional or amateur, who is interested in attaining their Morgan R judging card. Read More
  • Spring Fling Horse Show to debut in its new location of the Equestrian Center at Kirkwood in Cedar Rapids, IA, April 5-8, 2018

    Spring Fling Horse Show to debut in its new location of the Equestrian Center at Kirkwood in Cedar Rapids, IA, April 5-8, 2018... Read More
  • Des Moines Springfest announces location

    The Des Moines Springfest Horse Show is scheduled for April 26 – 29, 2018.   We are pleased to announce the show will be held in the beautiful, state of the art Jacobson Arena at the Iowa State Fairground, Des Moines, IA. Read More
  • Coming Home Again

    Kevin Michael made a triumphant return to the show ring at Carousel Charity Horse Show Friday morning behind the elegant and high-stepping Hackney Pleasure Driving Pony CH Heartland Resplendant owned by Sandra Surber of Calistoga, California. Read More
  • ASHA Seeks Executive Director

    The American Saddlebred Horse Assocation (ASHA) is currently seeking to hire its next Executive Director. Founded in 1871, the ASHA’s mission is to safeguard the integrity of the American Saddlebred breed, to promote the use of American Saddlebreds, and to expand the public knowledge of the American Saddlebred.  Read More
  • Prize Lists Available for Asheville Saddlebred Classic

    The inaugural Asheville Saddlebred Classic is fast approaching and prize lists are now available at The entries closing date is April 20th and entries can be submitted online until that date. Hard copies of the prize list are available upon request... Read More
  • Blue Ribbon Opening

    Read More
  • Hall of Famer Dies

    Ronald E. “Ronnie” Graham passed away on Tuesday, March 13, during the Gasparilla Charity Horse Show. The horse world mourns the loss of this talented trainer, astute ground man, and friend to all. The recipient of the 2015 UPHA Tom Moore Professional Horsemen’s Hall of Fame Award, Ronnie was the first to lend a hand to those in need... Read More
  • Royal Crest's Mister Stone Now Being Offered For Your Consideration

    Consistently in the ribbons, this wonderful gelding has proven to be an absolute star in whatever division he is entered in: Walk and Trot Equitation, Open English Pleasure, Junior Exhibitor Country Pleasure - he can do it all and he is ready for his next young rider! Direct inquires to Country Meadow Farm. Read More
  • HS Queen Of The Castle Now Being Offered For Your Consideration

    A lovely mare that will get you noticed! Shown successfully in Junior Exhibitor and Adult Show Pleasure and Park Pleasure with lots of wins to her credit. She is suitable for a more advanced rider - let her win for you! Direct Inquiries to Jennifer Dixon. Read More