Skip to content

AMHA Announces Team Morgan 2012

The American Morgan Horse Association (AMHA) is pleased to announce the following five equestrians have been named to Team Morgan 2012 and will take part in an international three-part equitation competition at the Bluegrass Morgan Classic in Lexington, Kentucky, in July.

Sascha Mills, 19, Goldsby, Oklahoma

Kendra Peeples, 18, Oxford, New Jersey

Gaetana D'Alesio-Spina, 19, Mendon, Massachusetts

Lauren Foy, 20, Kingston, New Hampshire

Lauren Bruss, 20, Columbus, Ohio

Ellery Walker, 16, of Marshall, Michigan, has been selected as the team's alternate. Trainer Suzanne Haberek of Broadalbin, New York, has been named as the Team Coach.

AMHA is pleased to partner with the Bluegrass Morgan Classic to hold this competition, which will take place July 4-7 against a South African equestrian team. This year, the competition will be different in years past, in that it is a three-day competition with each equestrian competing in saddle seat, hunter seat, and driving. A three-member equitation judging panel will mark the cards and awards will be given to the overall high-point rider for both rail and pattern and the overall high-point team.

In 2007, the American Morgan Horse Association and the American Morgan Horse Educational Charitable Trust approved Team Morgan, an international, multi discipline competition program for Morgan youth ages 14-21. Past Team Morgan competitions have included saddle seat competitions in South Africa and the Massachusetts Morgan Horse Show, as well as a competition in North Carolina in August 2009 at against the Stephens College Equestrian Team in November 2010. 

More Stories