Skip to content

AMHA Announces 2009 Award Recipients

SHELBURNE, VT— The American Morgan Horse Association (AMHA) is pleased to recognize the following members who will receive top awards at its annual convention, which will take place in Lexington, Kentucky, February 17-20, 2010.

Man and Woman of the Year Awards honor those individuals for their continued support of the breed. This year's honorees are Roger Barricklow and Connie Barker.

Nicole Nicholson will be awarded the Cecil Brown Memorial Sportsmanship Award, which is given to a Morgan exhibitor who has displayed outstanding sportsmanship.

Inducted into AMHA's Hall of Fame are Elaine Galatz, the late M. A. "Bud" Hanson, and Nancy Jewell.

The Breeders' Hall of Fame honors a breeder(s) who has produced Morgans that have had a significant impact on the breed. This year's honorees are Cedar Creek Farm, Tara Farm, and Tennessee Valley Morgans.

The Golden Reins Awards is given to a Morgan professional who has a 30-year career in training or instruction. Harold Angell, Lynn and Kathy Peeples, and Pierre Loiselle will receive this special honor.

Claudia Grimes will be honored for her outstanding contributions to the Morgan Youth program as the Youth Person of the Year.

Suzy Stafford will receive the Morgan International Award for her dedication to overseas competition with Courage To Lead.

Two Morgans will be honored for their work with people with disabilities. This year's honorees are Lenawee Madonna, owned by Patricia D'Andrea; and Janlees' Philharmonica, from the Northern Virginia Therapeutic Riding Program.

Born To Boogie, Hyland Acres Command, and Topa's Krystal will be inducted into AMHA's Show Horse Hall of Fame.

More Stories