Skip to content

The American Saddle Horse Association Of Tennessee Hosts 2003 Awards Banquet

CLEVELAND, Tenn.--Honoring high point champions was only a small part of the fun and festivities as The American Saddle Horse Association of Tennessee hosted its annual awards banquet on Saturday, February 8, 2003 at the Cleveland Country Club, Cleveland, Tenn.

ASHAT board members Vicki Gillenwater, Chris Long and LeAnne Smiley worked for months planning the banquet, while Mark Farrar added his expertise by announcing the event. Efforts paid off, and this year’s banquet had its largest turnout in many years.

Highlights of the banquet included a raffle where winners could select wrapped prizes or “steal” prizes that had already been selected by other winners. Prizes from affiliated shows included box seats from the Atlanta Pro-Am, the Alabama Charity Championship and the Kentucky Spring Premier. A “fight” broke out between longtime friends and ASHAT supporters Pam Long and Deborah Richardson who traded the making of a tail switch by Karen Warner back and forth. Dorothy Gillenwater proved her abilities as a fundraiser as she sold more than 600 raffle tickets. Proceeds from the banquet and raffle will fund ASHAT’s sponsorship of Member Classes at affiliated shows in 2003.

ASHAT also took the opportunity to honor some of its members with special achievement awards. Dianna Pearson and Jeannie Smith were honored for their commitment to the Tennessee Futurities, and Chris Long was presented a plaque to thank her for her year of guidance as president of ASHAT. Amateur exhibitor Linda Hendricks of Eatonwood Farm, junior exhibitor Abby Jones of Blythewood Farm and trainer David Cunningham of Beaverbrook Stables were each honored for their contributions to the Saddlebred industry.

High point awards were presented to champions and reserve champions in 25 divisions. Richardson Stables, Leon, Deborah and Tommy Richardson were the big winners claiming top honors in the five-gaited division with Kalahari, I Will I Will and Premier’s Evening Shadow. Deborah Richardson also dominated the ASB pleasure horse awards winning with five gaited champion Cheers, Cheers, three gaited show pleasure adult champion Bi Mi Magic Winter and western horse As Catch Can.

Vicki Gillenwater showed horses to win titles across the board including A Blessing in the ladies three gaited, Manhattan Day in the three gaited natural mane and tail and K-Town’s Precious Princess in the park pleasure divisions for her Scenic View Farm and trainer Jacques VanNiekerk.

Alan Hancock claimed the open three gaited division title with Eatonwood Farms’ Magic Spoon while his wife Tammy showed her horse For Sure to win the amateur three gaited title. Bobbye Six scored dual wins with her champions Callaway’s Feature Story in the show pleasure driving and Heartland’s Firefly to win the harness pony award.

Kathy Caylor Stables again dominated the academy division, and riders turned out in mass to cheer on their friends as well as honor their instructor Kathy Caylor. Caylor’s students Emily Barker, Ashley Johnson and Donna Roland were also victorious in performance divisions.

In the juvenile division it was Frank Polley who turned in the winning performances with Seamair’s Twice As Nice in the roadster pony division and CH Atlantache in the five gaited division. Frank and his mother Virginia Polley ride with Jimmy Womble at Mountain Shadows Stables.

Dominating the roadster pony division was Kim Workman of Athens, Tennessee with her ponies St. Patrick and Roger. This marked her first year competing with the ponies under the guidance of Phillip Jackson at Longvue Farm.

Anne Marie Overstreet traveled from Virginia to claim her award for the second year in a row in the pleasure pony division with Starheart’s Wind Chime.

Other ASHAT champions included horses trained by Sam and Anne Stafford of Blythewood Farm, Wayne and Cathy Hackney of Starquest Equestrian Center, Lisa Bible and Kathryn Moore of Bridle Creek Farm, and Phillip Jackson at Longvue Farm.

More Stories

  • Obituary - Rich Robertson

    Saddle Horse Report learned of the passing of noted horse trainer Rich Robertson on December 24, 2017 at the age of 69. Robertson spent several years as the trainer for Susan Phillips’ Alpha-Sun Stables, showing world-class stars across the country. Read More
  • Brookhill's Fame Now Offered For Your Consideration

    The March 12 issue of Saddle Horse Report will feature its Spring Sales Spectacular. In addition to a special rate, one of several extras for placing horses for sale in that issue will be each horse will be featured on the home page of our website like this. This big, handsome, bay gelding has been a proven champion in the Amateur Ladies Three-Gaited, Adult Park and Show Pleasure divisions. If you're looking for a safe, competitive pleasure mount, he is the one. Direct inquires to Mark Utoft. Read More
  • CH Wicked In A Winning Way Now Being Offered For Your Consideration

    The March 12 issue of Saddle Horse Report will feature its Spring Sales Spectacular. In addition to a special rate, one of several extras for placing horses for sale in that issue will be each horse will be featured on the home page of our website like this. A World's and Reserve World's Champion, he is enough horse for the amateur or ladies five-gaited division but would be a superstar in the 13 and under or five-gaited pleasure division. Direct inquires to Mark Utoft. Read More
  • AMHA Announces Board of Director Election Results

    The American Morgan Horse Association, Inc., held its annual meeting of members on February 16, 2018 in Lexington, Kentucky.  Read More
  • 2018 AMHA/WMF Stallion Service Auction Results

    Nearly $75,000 was raised at the 2018 AMHA/WMF Stallion Service Auction. The net income following expenses from this auction go to Morgan breed promotion and will be distributed to the World Morgan Futurity, AMHA regional shows, the AMHA Show Grant Program, and AMHA's Marketing and Promotion. Read More
  • Heritage Stables Open House

    Bryan and Katy Earehart announce their first Open House, Saturday February 24 from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. at Heritage Stables, 6209 Bethel Church Rd, Gibsonville, North Carolina. Light breakfast items will be available while enjoying Hackney Pony demonstrations and sharing a common love for the Hackney. Read More
  • ASB Museum accepting applications

    The American Saddlebred Museum is seeking a skilled development and marketing professional to assist in fundraising, donor relationships, and execution of marketing and communication strategies for the Museum, located in Lexington, Kentucky at the Kentucky Horse Park.  Read More
  • Latest Issue Feb-19-18

    Read More
  • UPHA Chapter 14 Scholarship Applications Available

    Chapter 14 of the United Professional Horsemen’s Association offers educational scholarships annually with up to $7,500 awarded. These scholarships are open to applicants who are high school seniors or college freshmen. Applicants must be UPHA Chapter 14 Junior or Associate members or the child of an Active UPHA Chapter 14 member. Read More
  • Jubilee Regional Morgan Horse Show Holding Online Fundraiser

    With the commitment to a Bigger and Better Jubilee in 2019, the show committee is not letting time get away. “We have been meeting every week via conference call and have been working on the financial side of the show in the past month, said Jubilee treasurer Kathy Beverage. Read More